Wisconsin Snowmobile Laws 

Operation while intoxicated: Fine is $572.00 for a first offense. Repeat violations are higher.
You must not operate a snowmobile if you are intoxicated. You are deemed, under Wisconsin's implied consent law, to have consented to tests of your breath, blood, or urine for the purpose of determining the presence or quantity of alcohol or controlled substances in your blood or breath.


Improper or no registration: Fine is $136.90 for non-registration.
All snowmobiles must be registered; either in your home state or in Wisconsin. If your home state does not require registration, you must register your snowmobile in Wisconsin. Registration decals must be placed on the snowmobile before you operate it. You must carry your registration with you on the snowmobile.


Operation in the vicinity of highways: Fine for most violations is $141.50.
All public roads in Wisconsin are considered highways. On state or country trunk highways, you must stay at least 10 feet from the roadway (the traveled portion of the highway). You may use the roadway to cross bridges, exercising due caution.

On town (local non-numbered, non-lettered) roads, you must stay off the traveled portion of the highway. You may use the roadway to cross bridges, exercising due caution.

At night, your direction of travel must conform to the direction of vehicle travel in the nearest lane.

You must observe posted speed limits. These are limits that apply to vehicles traveling the road to which you are adjacent.

While traveling trails, whenever you cross a highway, you must come to a complete stop and yield the right-of-way to any vehicle traffic before crossing.

Some public highways may be designated as snowmobile routes. These are clearly marked as such by green and white signs and orange trail blazes. While operating on these routes, you may travel at the extreme right side of the roadway, at the speed limit. You must yield to all vehicular traffic and pedestrians. Stay off any roadway not marked as an official route.


Age restrictions: The fine for an adult to allow underage operation is $129.20.
Under 12 years old may operate if accompanied by someone over 18. Accompanied means on the same snowmobile. 12 through 15 years old may operate if accompanied by someone over 18 or if they have successfully completed a recognized snowmobile safety class. Over 16 may operate as an adult.


Operation near person not on snowmobile/dwellings.
Any time you are within 100 feet of any pedestrian or ice fishing shack, you must reduce your speed to 10 mph or under. Between 10:30 p.m. and 7:00 a.m., you must reduce your speed to 10 mph or less within 150 feet of any dwelling. 
A pamphlet entitled Wisconsin Snowmobile Laws (publication PUBL-LE-201 95 REV) is available from the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. 

Trail Use Sticker

It takes a lot of money to groom 16,000 miles of state-funded snowmobile trails--particularly in winters with heavy snowfalls. In recent years, trail groomers have run short of funds. Consequently, new funding for trail maintenance has become necessary.

Beginning with the 1998-1999 season, a new Wisconsin Trail Use Sticker will generate that additional trail revenue. Designed to supplement existing out-of-state registration fees, the new Trail Use Sticker will be required for all snowmobiles not registered in Wisconsin.

In recent years, states bordering Wisconsin have instituted similar fees for similar purposes. The additional revenue generated by Wisconsin's Trail Use Sticker will be used entirely for existing DNR snowmobile trail programs.

Beginning in the fall of 1998, Trail Use Stickers will be available at most Wisconsin DNR offices and at other select license outlets; or call (608) 266-2621.

[ Snowmobile Main | Snowmobile Map | Snowmobile Laws | Snowmobile Clubs]